Spider-Man Homecoming

I haven’t really told the WordPress world this yet, but you should know I’m a total nerd. Yes, you all know that I’m a theatre nerd, but what you don’t know is I love Star Wars! Actually my entire family loves Star Wars. . . Seriously my parents are getting married in 3 weeks and the theme is Star Wars. I came to the realization today that most of the clothing I own has something Star Wars related and I’m okay with that.

This post isn’t about my love of Star Wars. No, It’s about my love for the Marvel universe. Most people know about my obsession about the Norse God Thor. I have always had a love for Thor. He’s my favorite Avenger. I’ve enjoyed an Iron Man movie here and there, but Thor will always be my favorite. I can’t wait until the new one comes out!

shareImage

I recently just went and saw Spider-Man Homecoming. Honestly I thought it was going to tank like every other Spider Man. That’s mean to say I grew up on the Toby Maguire movies. However, I think Spider-Man Homecoming is the closest to a comic book story and honestly is the best.

Yes, I know there are multiple different Spider-Man series. This one is a personal favorite. I was worried that this wasn’t going to be good. The Amazing Spider-Man I walked out of. I didn’t care for the way Andrew Garfield portrayed him. However, Tom Holland in the Spider-Man. Amazing!

First he started as gymnast. So everything you’re seeing on the screen. All the flips and acrobatics he’s doing. Mad respect for that. The boy trained for like two years for this role and it shows. He can also act, which is quite the treat for us these days. What a true a talent. A performer who can act and perform all his own stunts. Tom Holland as a 15-year-old, sophomore genius was believable. Honestly, the 21-year-old actor (yeah, he’s 21!) makes you believe he’s younger than he really is and not just because he looks it, but because of his vulnerability on the screen.

spider-man-homecoming-video-peters-suit-tech

This Peter Parker I think is more loveable for audiences because he isn’t sad. He’s actually really funny. His brains and never give up attitude makes you want to root for him. In the other Spider Mans Peter Parker is a photographer. Here he’s just a kid who has  a brain. You see him create his web. Which is true to these comics.

I was worried when I had read that Tony Stark was going to be his mentor in this movie. I wasn’t really sure how the Iron Man story line and such was going to work. I actually really enjoyed it. There was a nice balance. You see Tony Stark become more like a father figure to Peter Parker. Which is a great development with the Iron Man character and the arch within all the Avenger movies.

Another surprising factor in this movie was Michael Keaton. You don’t normally see him in the light as a criminal/villain however he did a fantastic job. You want to hate his character because he’s the opposing force in this movie. However, he makes you really like his character because of the real-ness. Maybe that’s a kudos to the writers than Michael Keaton. You really understand where his character is coming from and why he’s doing what he’s doing.

images

I’m really excited to see where the Avengers go from here with the addition of Spider-Man. I can’t wait for Spider-Man movies and see him mature and grow his story line. If you haven’t gotten a chance to see this movie I highly recommend you go and see it. You won’t be disappointed.

Comment below your thoughts on the movie or any of the nerdy topics discussed.

-Bre-nana

Leave a Reply

